XI.—ADMINISTRATION.

PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATION.

Representation of Provinces.—The four original provinces of the Dominion were Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, which were given parliamentary representation according to Section 37 of the British North America Act, 1867. By Imperial Orders in Council the provinces of British Columbia and Prince Edward Island were admitted into the Dominion,—the former on July 20, 1871, by Order dated May 16, 1871, and the latter on July 1, 1873, by Order dated June 26, 1873. An Act of the Dominion Parliament of May 12, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3), provided for the formation of the province of Manitoba out of Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territories, so soon as these should be admitted into the Dominion of Canada, which admission was effected by Imperial Order in Council dated June 23, 1870, and taking effect on July 15, 1870. In consequence of doubts as to the legal validity of the Dominion Act of 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) the Imperial Parliament passed an Act in 1871 (34-35 Vict., c. 28) making the Canadian Act valid and effectual.

Parliament of Canada.—The Parliament of the Dominion of Canada consists of the Senate with 87 members and of the House of Commons with 221 members, senators being appointed for life by the Governor General and members of the House of Commons being elected by the people. The limit of duration for each parliament is five years. A Redistribution Act passed after each census readjusts the number of representatives in the House of Commons in accordance with rules laid down in Section 51 of the British North America Act, 1867, of the Imperial Parliament (30–31 Vict., c. 3). These rules provide that the province of Quebec shall always have the fixed number of 65 members, and that there shall be assigned to each of the other provinces such a number of members as will bear the same proportion to the number of its population (ascertained by the census) as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec.

The Senate.—The numerical representation of the Senate by provinces is as follows: Prince Edward Island 4, Nova Scotia 10, New Brunswick 10, Quebec 24, Ontario 24, Manitoba 4, Saskatchewan 4, Alberta 4, British Columbia 3. Total 87.

House of Commons.—The present representation of the people in the House of Commons is in accordance with Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1903, 1904 and 1907 (3 Edw. VII, c. 60; 4 Edw. VII, c. 35; 6–7 Edw. VII, c. 41). The provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta were created by Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1905 (4–5 Edw. VII, cc. 3 and 42), and after the Northwest Census of 1906 the Representation Act was amended by an Act of April 27, 1907 (6–7 Edw. VII, c. 41), which gave Saskatchewan ten members and Alberta seven members after the next ensuing election of October 26, 1908. The seven additional members thus given to Saskatchewan and Alberta brought the total parliamentary representation of Canada up to 221 as stated above. By the Representation Act, 1914 (4–5 Geo. V, c. 51), which was assented to on June 12, 1914, it is provided that the